Allison Gleason

Photo

Allison Gleason

Mechanical Engineering PhD Candidate at Berkeley

  • Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Anatomy, Biology, Calculus, Chemistry, College Essay, Earth/Space Science, Geometry, High School English, Math, Middle School English, Physics, Pre Algebra, Pre Calculus, Science, Trigonometry
  • Northern California
  • Updated 1 year ago
  • Arduino
  • CAD experience
  • CATIA
  • college essay prep
  • Creo
  • Engineering industry experience
  • Fusion
  • Inventor
  • Laser Cutting
  • mock interviewer
  • Personal Organization
  • Poster Prep
  • presentation prep/delivery
  • Rapid Prototyping
  • Solidworks
  • Test Strategy
  • August 2013 - May 2016
    WIEP Tutor at Purdue University
  • May 2012 - May 2015
    Advanced Technology Co-operative Student at Zimmer Biomet
    This was a rotational program that you had to apply to get into, and then apply to companies that you were interested in working with. If you interviewed successfully you rotated – 1 semester at work full-time, one semester on campus at school – 5 times before you graduated.
  • June 2017 - August 2017
    Graduate Student Instructor at UC Berkeley
    I was the lead GSI for the summer session of ME110, the senior design capstone course for Mechanical Engineers here at Berkeley. I was responsible for coordinating the other two GSIs, assigning grading responsibilities, grading my own share of assignments, managing a handful of design teams, hosting office hours, hosting design reviews, hosting supplementary lectures, and preparing and delivering a full lecture.
  • August 2011 - May 2016
    Bachelors of Science in Mechanical Engineering at Purdue University
  • August 2016 - Present
    Masters of Science/PhD in Mechanical Engineering at University of California - Berkeley

Description

I am a fourth-year Doctoral student at UC Berkeley studying Mechanical Engineering with a focus in Biomechanics. My research is focused on modeling brain injuries and the mechanics of those injuries. I started tutoring in undergrad for Purdue’s Women in Engineering Program, where the mission was to encourage female students to stay in STEM majors. I spent 3 years providing both one-on-one and group tutoring for young men and women in the early stages of STEM majors. I’m very familiar with the introductory courses in science and math that would be upper high school level or underclassmen college level. I also have experience with coding in Matlab and LabView, as well as rapid prototyping and methods of manufacturing and fabrication. I have experience with linear circuits and some robotics as well, if help in those areas is needed. I also have a lot of experience mentoring students preparing college applications. I am a mellow person, with a lot of patience and a flexible approach to tutoring that makes me adaptable to different learning styles. I love to help people reach their goals and help them on their way to reaching their aspirations.

Security Code:
security code
Please enter the security code:

Submit